Maps of Sudan

Blank Maps of Sudan

Sudan is officially the Republic of the Sudan, and likewise referred to as North Sudan, a nation in Northeast Africa. It shares borders with the Central African Republic to the southwest, Chad to the west, Egypt to the north, Eritrea to the northeast, Ethiopia to the southeast, Libya to the northwest, South Sudan to the south and the Red Sea.


It has a population of 45.70 million people as of 2022 as well as occupies 1,886,068 square kilometres (728,215 square miles), making it Africa’s third-largest nation by location, and the third-largest by area in the Arab League. It was the biggest country by location in Africa and the Arab Organization till the secession of South Sudan in 2011, given that which both titles have been held by Algeria. Its funding is Khartoum and also its most populated city is Omdurman (part of city Khartoum).


Sudan’s history returns to Ancient Greece and the Pharaonic duration, witnessing the Kingdom of Kerma (c. 2500– 1500 BC), the subsequent rule of the Egyptian New Kingdom (c. 1500 BC– 1070 BC) as well as the surge of the Kingdom of Kush (c. 785 BC– 350 AD), which would in turn control Egypt itself for virtually a century. After the loss of Kush, the Nubians developed the three Christian kingdoms of Nobatia, Makuria, and Alodia, with the last two lasting till around 1500. Between the 14th as well as 15th centuries, a lot of Sudan was worked out by Arab wanderers.


From the 16th– 19th centuries, central as well as eastern Sudan were controlled by the Funj sultanate, while Darfur ruled the west as well as the Ottomans the east. From the 19th century, the entirety of Sudan was conquered by Egypt under the Muhammad Ali dynasty.


It was under Egyptian rule that Sudan acquired its modern-day borders, and also started the procedure of political, agricultural, and also financial development. In 1881, nationalist sentiment in Egypt resulted in the Orabi Revolt, “compromising” the power of the Egyptian monarchy, and eventually resulting in the profession of Egypt by the United Kingdom.


At the same time, religious-nationalist fervour in Sudan emerged in the Mahdist Rebellion led by the self-proclaimed Mahdi Muhammad Ahmad, causing the establishment of the rebel Caliphate of Omdurman. The Mahdist forces were at some point defeated by a joint Egyptian-British military force, recovering the authority of the Egyptian emperor.


Nonetheless, Egyptian sovereignty in Sudan would from this point forward be somewhat nominal, as the true power in both Egypt and also Sudan was currently the UK. In 1899, under British stress, Egypt agreed to share sovereignty over Sudan with the United Kingdom as a condominium.


Essentially, Sudan was controlled as a British ownership. The 20th century saw the development of both Egyptian and also Sudanese nationalism concentrating on finishing the United Kingdom’s profession. The Egyptian Transformation of 1952 toppled the monarchy, and required the withdrawal of British forces from every one of Egypt and Sudan.


Muhammad Naguib, one of the two co-leaders of the revolution, as well as Egypt’s initial President, who was half-Sudanese as well as elevated in Sudan, made protecting Sudanese freedom a priority of the innovative federal government.


The following year, under Egyptian as well as Sudanese stress, the United Kingdom agreed to Egypt’s need for both federal governments to terminate their common sovereignty over Sudan, and to grant Sudan self-reliance. On 1 January 1956, Sudan was properly stated an independent state.

Below is a blank printable map of Sudan.

This shows a blank practice worksheet of Sudan.

This map shows the basic outline structure of Sudan.

Here you can see a labeled map of Sudan with cities.

Below is a Physical map of Sudan.

Below is a Political map of Sudan.

Below is a Road map of Sudan.

And here, you can see a Locator map of Sudan.

More information about this country can be found here.