Maps of Burundi

Blank Maps of Burundi

Burundi, formally the Republic of Burundi, is a landlocked nation in the Great Break Valley where the African Great Lakes area and East Africa merge. It is surrounded by Rwanda to the north, Tanzania to the east and southeast, as well as the Autonomous Republic of the Congo to the west; Lake Tanganyika lies along its southwestern border. The capital cities are Gitega and Bujumbura, the latter of which is the country’s largest city.


The Twa, Hutu as well as Tutsi peoples have resided in Burundi for at the very least 500 years. For more than 200 of those years, Burundi was an independent kingdom, till the start of the 20th century, when Germany ruled the region. After the First World War and Germany’s defeat, the Organization of Nations “mandated” the area to Belgium. After the Second World War, this transformed into a United Nations Trust Area. Both Germans as well as Belgians ruled Burundi and also Rwanda as a European colony called Ruanda-Urundi. Burundi as well as Rwanda had never been under usual rule up until the moment of European invasion of Africa.


Burundi acquired self-reliance in 1962 as well as originally had a monarchy, however a collection of murders, stroke of genius and also a general climate of local instability finished in the establishment of a republic as well as a one-party state in 1966. Bouts of ethnic cleaning and also ultimately two civil battles as well as genocides throughout the 1970s as well as once more in the 1990s caused numerous hundreds of fatalities, leaving the economy primitive and the populace as one of the globe’s poorest.


The year 2015 witnessed large-scale political quarrel as President Pierre Nkurunziza opted to run for a 3rd term in office, a successful stroke effort fell short and the nation’s legislative and presidential political elections were generally criticised by members of the worldwide neighborhood.


The sovereign state of Burundi’s political system is that of a presidential rep democratic republic based upon a multi-party state. The head of state of Burundi is the president and also head of federal government. There are currently 21 registered celebrations in Burundi. On 13 March 1992, Tutsi coup leader Pierre Buyoya established a constitution, which provided for a multi-party political process and also showed multi-party competition. Six years later on, on 6 June 1998, the constitution was transformed, widening the National Assembly’s seats as well as making provisions for 2 vice-presidents.


Because of the Arusha Accord, Burundi passed a transitional federal government in 2000. In October 2016, Burundi notified the UN of its intention to withdraw from the International Offender Court.

Here you can see a labeled map of Burundi with cities.

Below is a Physical map of Burundi.

Below is a Political map of Burundi.

Below is a Road map of Burundi.

And here, you can see a Locator map of Burundi.

More information about this country can be found here.